Catalina Island Day Trip From Punta Cana
Catalina Island sits off La Romana inside Parque Nacional Cotubanama, and from Punta Cana it is a single bookable tour, not a menu of dozens like Saona. Here is what that tour costs, what the day looks like, and how to decide between the two islands.
Short answer
There is currently one Catalina Island day trip bookable from Punta Cana: an all-inclusive 9-hour tour from $69 per person, rated 4.2 across a modest 75 reviews, with hotel pickup, lunch, drinks and free cancellation. Catalina suits snorkelers and travelers avoiding Saona's crowds; Saona suits beach-day purists.
Catalina Island is the quieter sibling in the Dominican Republic's island day-trip scene. Saona pulls the crowds and the marketing budgets; Catalina pulls snorkelers, catamaran cruisers and travelers who read past the first page of search results. Both islands sit inside Parque Nacional Cotubanama, run by the Ministry of Environment, and both are reached by road from Punta Cana and Bavaro to the Bayahibe and La Romana pier area first, usually a 60 to 90 minute transfer, before you ever step on a boat.
That structure shapes everything about the day. You are not choosing between two beaches five minutes apart. You are choosing between two protected islands that share a park, a departure coast and roughly the same logistics, but deliver very different days on the water. This guide covers the one Catalina tour bookable from Punta Cana, what it costs and includes, how the day unfolds, how Catalina genuinely differs from Saona, and who each island suits. Since Catalina trips actually depart from the La Romana stretch of coast, our breakdown of whether Punta Cana or La Romana makes the better trip base is a useful next read before you commit to a hotel zone.
Be clear-eyed about one thing from the start: Catalina day trips from Punta Cana are far fewer than Saona ones, an all-inclusive 9-hour tour from $69 per person, rated 4.2 across 75 reviews. That review count is modest, and the honest way to treat it is to say so plainly rather than dress it up. Seventy-five travelers have rated it, and their verdict lands at 4.2, solid but not the 4.8-plus scores the best Saona small-group tours carry. The related Punta Cana Travel Tours pages carry the full Saona comparison if you want the other side of the decision.
What Is Catalina Island And Where Is It?
Catalina Island is a small, protected island in Parque Nacional Cotubanama off the Dominican Republic's southeast coast, opposite La Romana and roughly an hour's road transfer plus a boat ride from Punta Cana. It is known for its reef snorkeling, its calm southside beach and its lower visitor numbers compared with Saona, and it is reached almost exclusively through organized tours rather than independent ferries. If you're weighing Catalina against its more popular neighbor, our guide to Saona Island boat ride durations explains how the crossing shapes the rest of the day.
The island sits a short crossing from the mainland near the mouth of the Chavón river, close to Altos de Chavón and the Casa de Campo resort coast. The crossing itself is usually 20 to 60 minutes by speedboat depending on sea and operator, comparable to the Saona crossing from Bayahibe. Unlike Saona, which has the famous palm-fringed Canto de la Playa and the natural pool sandbar at Palmilla, Catalina's signature stops are its reefs: operators typically emphasize two snorkel sites known as The Wall and The Aquarium, plus beach time on the island's sheltered south side.
Both islands sit in the same national park, and the same Ministry of Environment rules apply on both: you may not remove starfish, shells, coral or sand, and marine life at snorkel stops is strictly look, don't touch. Tours are the standard access method. Independent boat access is not how casual day-trippers reach Catalina; authorized operators with hotel pickup from Punta Cana and Bavaro are the practical route, which is why the tour you pick basically is the day you get.

For context on how the islands compare as destinations rather than tours, US News covers the Saona side of the park and the access picture: organized excursions dominate. The practical takeaway for planning is that your Catalina day starts before dawn pickups in Punta Cana, spends its first hour on a bus, and only then becomes a boat day.
How Much Does A Catalina Island Day Trip Cost?
Only one Catalina trip is bookable on the roster: Catalina Island from Punta Cana, All-Inclusive, More Exclusive Than Saona, at $69 per person for a 9-hour shared day, with hotel pickup, lunch, drinks, and free cancellation all listed. Saona alternatives, by contrast, run anywhere from $66 to $169 per person depending on boat type and group size.
That $69 Catalina price undercuts most Saona options while promising a quieter island, which is the core of its pitch. It is a shared tour with a standard group of up to 60 people, so the "more exclusive" in its title is relative: exclusive compared with Saona's biggest 300-traveler departures, not exclusive in the private-boat sense. The listing includes hotel pickup, a meal, drinks, free cancellation, an admission ticket to Cotubanama National Park and snorkeling gear, so your island access is already handled.
Here is how the island day-trip prices from Punta Cana stack up:
| Tour | Island | Duration | Price basis | Rating | Max group |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Catalina Island from Punta Cana: All-Inclusive, More Exclusive Than Saona | Catalina | 9 hours | from $69 per person | 4.2 across 75 reviews | Up to 60 people |
| Catamaran to Saona Island with Food & Open Bar | Saona | 8 to 8.5 hours | from $66 per person | 4.3 across 1,218 reviews | Not stated |
| Catamaran Boat to Saona Island with Buffet Lunch | Saona | 8 hours | from $71 per person | 4.4 across 4,780 reviews | Up to 50 people |
| Saona Island, Mano Juan & Canto de la Playa Away from Crowds | Saona | 8 hours | from $119 per person | 5.0 across 168 reviews | Up to 30 people |
| Small Group: Saona Island Full Day Tour | Saona | 9 hours | from $165 per person | 4.9 across 1,572 reviews | 12 travellers |
The pattern in that table is the real decision. Catalina and the big shared Saona boats occupy the same budget band, roughly $66 to $85 per person. The quiet-Saona options, the max 12 small group at $165 and the max 30 Mano Juan route at $119, cost double but deliver the small-boat day that Catalina's marketing gestures at. If your priority is genuinely small numbers, a small-group Saona tour may serve you better than Catalina's 60-person shared format; if your priority is reef snorkeling and a lower price, Catalina wins.
Prices move with season, and Saona day trips typically cost more from December to April, so treat every figure here as a from-price, not a promise. Tipping sits outside the ticket: the standard guidance for the Dominican Republic runs $10 to $20 per person for a full-day guide and $5 to $10 per person for half-day tours and boat crews, pooled among the crew, in USD small bills.
What Does The Catalina Day Actually Look Like?
A Catalina day from Punta Cana typically runs about 9 hours door to door: early hotel pickup, a road transfer of roughly 60 to 90 minutes toward the La Romana and Bayahibe pier area, a boat crossing of 20 to 60 minutes, then reef snorkeling, beach time on the island's south side, and a cooked lunch with drinks before the reverse journey home.
The structure mirrors the Saona day almost exactly, because the logistics are the same: buses first, boats second. Pickups cluster in the early morning from Punta Cana and Bavaro hotels, earlier from northern zones like Uvero Alto. Once on the water, the Catalina operators typically run the reef stops first, The Wall and The Aquarium in the listing's descriptions, then moor at the southside beach for swimming and lunch. Snorkel gear is provided at the stops, and the tours note that sea and weather conditions govern which sites are used on any given day; operators report rather than promise particular reefs. If the reef stops leave you curious about going deeper with a tank, our Punta Cana scuba diving guide covers the options.
The Catalina tour is sold as all-inclusive, and its own description promises beach time, a buffet lunch, and an open bar, so drinks appear to be in the ticket even though the inclusions summary is thinner. Compared with the cheapest Saona option at $66, which also carries food and an open bar, the $3 difference buys a different island rather than a better inclusions list. On anything you care about, check the booking page, because inclusions genuinely vary listing to listing even on the same island.

For the park side of the day, the same Cotubanama rules that govern Saona apply: nothing leaves the island or the water with you, and the reefs are a protected marine environment. A practical packing note from the buggy-and-boat cluster: old clothes, reef-safe sunscreen and cash for tips cover most needs. The deeper packing question has its own page, the Punta Cana excursion packing guide.
One honest caveat on expectations. With a single listing and a 60-person cap, Catalina from Punta Cana is one boat among the La Romana departures, and the listing for the Catalina trip even bills the island as more exclusive than Saona. Quieter than Saona is a fair general description of the two islands; empty is not a claim anyone can make. Operators report lighter numbers on Catalina, and the snorkeling is the stronger draw, but sea state and port schedules shape any single day.

Is Catalina Or Saona Better For You?
Catalina suits snorkelers, value hunters and anyone who wants the quieter island at the lowest price, from $69 per person with reef stops. Saona suits beach-day purists, photographers chasing the palm-lined Canto de la Playa and the natural pool sandbar, and travelers willing to pay $119 to $165 for genuinely small groups. Catalina has one tour and a modest review pool; Saona has eight listings and thousands of reviews.
The snorkeling question is the sharpest divider. Saona's stops are mostly about the sandbar and the beach; the natural pool at Palmilla is a waist-deep standing stop with starfish, not a reef dive. Catalina's whole itinerary is built around two named reef sites. If you travel with masks and fins and judge islands by what is under the water, Catalina is the better fit. If your ideal day is a shallow, warm, drink-in-hand float with postcard palms behind you, Saona's beach is the stronger product and the Saona Island tour guide covers it in depth.
| Factor | Catalina | Saona |
|---|---|---|
| Bookable tours from Punta Cana | 1 listing | 8 listings |
| Price floor | from $69 per person | from $66 per person |
| Signature stops | The Wall and The Aquarium reefs, southside beach | Canto de la Playa beach, Palmilla natural pool |
| Snorkeling focus | Central to the itinerary | Secondary to beach time |
| Typical group range | Up to 60 people | 12 to 300 travellers depending on tour |
| Best review score | 4.2 across 75 reviews | 5.0 across 168 reviews (Mano Juan tour) |
| Best for | Snorkelers, quieter-island seekers | Beach days, first-time visitors, small groups |
The review-pool difference deserves a plain sentence. Saona's most-reviewed tour carries 4,780 ratings, and its small-group options sit at 4.9 across 1,572 reviews. Catalina's single tour carries 4.2 across 75 reviews, a modest pool that tells you less, not that the tour is worse. If a long review history reassures you, Saona is the safer emotional buy; if a 4.2 from 75 travelers is enough signal, Catalina's price and reefs reward the leap.
There is a fuller treatment of this exact head-to-head question in Catalina versus Saona compared, including the overnight question and the departure-coast logistics both islands share. For background on the wider choice of boat days from Punta Cana, including catamaran and party formats, the Punta Cana catamaran tours guide maps the rest of the coastline.
The Mano Juan option deserves a specific mention for readers torn between the islands. The Saona Island, Mano Juan & Canto de la Playa Away from Crowds tour, from $119 per person, rated 5.0 across 168 reviews, caps at 30 travellers and visits the fishing village of Mano Juan alongside the beach. It is the tour that most directly answers the "Saona but quieter" brief, which is the same brief that draws people to Catalina, and it carries a far stronger review record.
Can You Do Catalina And Altos De Chavón In One Day?
Not as a single bookable tour from Punta Cana. The one Catalina listing is a standalone 9-hour island day with no Altos de Chavón stop in its itinerary. Travelers wanting both usually take the Saona-and-Altos-de-Chavón combination tour, from $92 per person, rated 4.4 across 346 reviews, which pairs the island crossing with the reconstructed Mediterranean-style village above the Chavón river.
The geography teases the combination: Altos de Chavón sits above La Romana, about 75 to 90 minutes from Punta Cana by road, practically on the way to the Catalina departure coast. But teasing is all it does, because the island day already consumes the full 9 hours including transfers, and the combined product that exists runs to Saona, not Catalina. The Saona Island and Altos de Chavón Day Trip, one day, from $92 per person, max group not stated, is the bookable version of that idea, with hotel pickup, meal and drinks listed as included.
If Altos de Chavón itself is the draw, a separate half-day is the cleaner plan. The Chavón-river day trip with the Casa de Ponce de León, from $120 per person and capped at 15 travellers, covers the village, the house and a cave in a 6-hour format. A quieter Chavón-focused alternative appears in the Altos de Chavón day trip options discussion of the La Romana coast. For the pure island-plus-village combo, though, the Saona version is the one that exists.
What Should You Know Before Booking The Catalina Tour?
Know three things: the tour is shared with up to 60 people, the 4.2 rating comes from a modest 75-review pool, and park entry is not stated as included, so confirm it on the booking page. On the plus side, hotel pickup, lunch, drinks and free cancellation are all listed, and the price starts at $69 per person, below most Saona tours of the same format.
Free cancellation is worth pausing on, because it changes how early you can commit. Every island tour on this site lists free cancellation, which means you can lock a date now, watch the weather and the sargassum outlook, and adjust without eating the ticket. The sea governs the day: reef stops are weather and sea-condition dependent, as operators describe plainly, and August to October carries the hurricane-season caution the Saona cluster notes. For the current picture, the Punta Cana sargassum guide explains how to read beach-condition reports before a snorkel-heavy day.

A short pre-booking checklist, drawn from the tour's own listed details and the park rules:
- Confirm on the booking page how park access and any entry fee are handled; the listing does not state it.
- Expect a shared format: up to 60 travellers on a standard departure.
- Bring USD small bills for the crew; on a full-day trip like this, the customary pooled tip is $10 to $20 per person.
- Nothing leaves the park: no starfish, shells, coral or sand, on either island.
- Check sea and sargassum conditions for your dates, since the reef stops depend on them.
On the safety question that some travelers ask after reading headlines: the US State Department rates the Dominican Republic at Level 2, exercise increased caution, with tourist areas generally safer, and there is a dedicated is Punta Cana safe page covering it. No specific 2026 safety incidents or new restrictions for these island tours appear in the operator sources reviewed; the standard caveats are sea state, sun and alcohol, not crime.

How Does The Catalina Price Fit The Wider Excursion Budget?
Catalina's $69 per-person floor sits in the lower-middle of Punta Cana's excursion price range, below the small-group Saona tours ($119 to $165), above the buggy and ATV half-days ($24 to $65), and comparable to the big shared Saona catamarans ($66 to $85). For a full budget map across every tour category from boats to ziplines, the excursion prices guide lists the current from-prices side by side.
The full Punta Cana excursion prices breakdown carries the numbers; the useful frame here is what a day of your vacation week costs. Island days are the most expensive single-day category alongside the big adventure bundles, roughly $70 to $170 per person. A Catalina day plus a buggy morning plus a zipline afternoon, about $69 plus $45 plus $65 at the floors, gives you three distinct days for less than one small-group Saona tour plus a night out.
| Excursion category | Price floor per person | Example tour |
|---|---|---|
| Buggy and ATV half-days | from $24 | Punta Cana: Buggy or ATV Tour with Cenote & Beach Stops |
| Ziplines | from $65 | Punta Cana Zipline - 8 lines and a suspenseful hanging bridge |
| Big shared island boats | from $66 | Catalina Island from Punta Cana: All-Inclusive |
| Quiet small-group islands | from $119 | Saona Island, Mano Juan & Canto de la Playa Away from Crowds |
| Adventure bundles | from $209 per group (up to 4) | Adventure Bundle: Monkeyland, Ziplines & Buggies Punta Cana |
One per-group quirk worth knowing as you budget with friends: some listings price the whole party, not the person. The private catamaran booze cruise runs from $839 per group for up to 15 people, and the Adventure Bundle runs from $209 per group for up to 4. Nobody divides the Catalina tour that way; it is strictly per person, but if a group of ten is comparing islands against chartering their own boat, the arithmetic in the best Punta Cana excursions overview is where that comparison lives.
Common Questions About Catalina Island Day Trips
How Much Is A Catalina Island Day Trip From Punta Cana?
The one bookable Catalina tour starts at $69 per person for a 9-hour shared day, with hotel pickup, lunch and drinks listed as included and free cancellation. Park entry is not stated as included, so check the booking page before you go.
Is Catalina Island Better Than Saona Island?
They suit different travelers. Catalina centers on reef snorkeling at The Wall and The Aquarium and typically runs quieter, from $69 per person with one listing. Saona offers the postcard beach, the natural pool and eight tour options from $66 to $169 per person. Snorkelers lean Catalina; beach-day travelers lean Saona.
How Long Is The Boat Ride To Catalina Island?
The crossing is usually 20 to 60 minutes by boat from the La Romana and Bayahibe pier area, depending on sea conditions and the vessel. Getting to that pier from Punta Cana or Bavaro is a road transfer of about 60 to 90 minutes first.
Can You Visit Catalina Island Without A Tour?
Not practically. Catalina sits inside Parque Nacional Cotubanama, and authorized tours with hotel pickup are the standard access method, the same as Saona. There is no independent public ferry option for casual day-trippers.
Is The Catalina Tour Good For Snorkeling?
Yes, snorkeling is the core of the itinerary, with stops at a single coral reef site for snorkeling, gear provided at the stops. Sea and weather conditions govern which sites are used on any given day, and nothing may be touched or removed from the protected water.
What Is The Rating Of The Catalina Island Tour?
The tour is rated 4.2 across 75 reviews, a modest review pool compared with Saona's thousands. Treat that as a solid but lightly sampled score rather than a verdict, and weigh the free-cancellation policy when you book.